Highest Rated Books

The books in this section have all been rated very highly by our reviewers. The books have an average rating of 4.5 or higher and the number of high rating reviews the book receives is also taken into account.

Page 8 of 52, showing 12 records out of 619 total, starting on record 85, ending on 96

Fried Green Tomatoes At The Whistle Stop Cafe (Vintage)

5.0 Stars5.0 Stars5.0 Stars5.0 Stars5.0 Stars  from  1 review

Paperback. Pub Date: 1992 Pages: 416 in Publisher: the the Vintage The day Idgie Threadgoode and Ruth Jamison opened the Whistle Stop Cafe the town took a turn for the better It was the Depression and that cafe was a home from home for many of us. You could get eggs. grits. bacon. ham. coffee and a smile for 25 cents. Ruth was just the sweetest girl you ever met. And Idgie She was a character. all right. Yo ...

Buy Book Now Read Reviews
 
 

The Retreat (Thomas & Mercer)

5.0 Stars5.0 Stars5.0 Stars5.0 Stars5.0 Stars  from  1 review

Two years ago, Julia lost her family in a tragic accident. Her husband drowned trying to save their daughter, Lily, in the river near their rural home. But the little girl’s body was never found—and Julia believes Lily is somehow still alive. Alone and broke, Julia opens her house as a writers’ retreat. One of the first guests is Lucas, a horror novelist, who becomes obsessed with finding out what ...

Buy Book Now Read Reviews
 
 

Right Behind You (FBI Profiler) (Headline)

5.0 Stars5.0 Stars5.0 Stars5.0 Stars5.0 Stars  from  1 review

Thirteen-year-old Sharlah Nash knows that the first time her brother killed eight years ago, he did it to save their lives. Now retired FBI profiler Pierce Quincy and his wife Rainie Conner have offered Sharlah a new life of safety. She desperately wants to believe this is her shot at happily ever after. Then two people are murdered in their local convenience store and Sharlah's brother is identified ...

Buy Book Now Read Reviews
 
 

Bookworm: A Memoir of Childhood Reading (Square Peg)

5.0 Stars5.0 Stars5.0 Stars5.0 Stars5.0 Stars  from  1 review

When Lucy Mangan was little, stories were everything. They opened up new worlds and cast light on all the complexities she encountered in this one. She was whisked away to Narnia – and Kirrin Island – and Wonderland. She ventured down rabbit holes and womble burrows into midnight gardens and chocolate factories. She wandered the countryside with Milly-Molly-Mandy, and played by the tracks with the Ra ...

Buy Book Now Read Reviews
 
 

The Silenced: A dark and electrifying supernatural thriller (Headline)

5.0 Stars5.0 Stars5.0 Stars5.0 Stars5.0 Stars  from  1 review

Mallory Grace just killed a man. To survive the next hour, she'll have to kill again. To survive the night, she'll need a miracle. Obadiah Macintosh doesn't seem like a miracle. He is a recluse who works alone at an animal sanctuary, and he has a secret. When the dogs in his care alert him to intruders hidden by the darkness, he knows they are coming for him. Mallory and Obadiah were strangers, brough ...

Buy Book Now Read Reviews
 
 

On The House (The Hudson & Lawes Trilogy) (Unbound Digital)

5.0 Stars5.0 Stars5.0 Stars5.0 Stars5.0 Stars  from  1 review

1838 and under the new Poor Law the destitute are now housed in union workhouses. Two men unknown to each other seek to uncover the suspected mistreatment of inmates in a small Suffolk workhouse. Edgar Lawes is a local landowner and justice of the peace; Ambrose Hudson a London journalist. Establishing himself on the board Lawes is immediately disturbed by the inhumanity he finds. Hudson becomes an inmate a ...

Buy Book Now Read Reviews
 
 

After She Vanished (Hachette Books Ireland)

5.0 Stars5.0 Stars5.0 Stars5.0 Stars5.0 Stars  from  1 review

Five people living on Dublin's streets have gone missing and criminologist David Dunnigan has been tasked with finding them. His search leads him to ten-year-old Harry, living alone in an abandoned warehouse, who has been waiting days for his parents' return ... Dunnigan knows more than he would wish to about unexplained disappearances. Almost twenty years ago, his young niece Beth vanished during the ...

Buy Book Now Read Reviews
 
 

Lost For Words: If you loved THE KEEPER OF LOST THINGS, you’ll love this (Zaffre)

5.0 Stars5.0 Stars5.0 Stars5.0 Stars5.0 Stars  from  1 review

Compelling, irresistible, feel-good read. Perfect for fans of The Keeper of Lost Things and Eleanor Oliphant is Completely Fine.

'Quirky, clever and unputdownable' Katie Fforde
'An exquisite story' Liz Fenwick
'Burns fiercely with love and hurt' Linda Green
'I ...

Buy Book Now Read Reviews
 
 

The Toymakers (Del Rey)

5.0 Stars5.0 Stars5.0 Stars5.0 Stars5.0 Stars  from  1 review

It is 1917, and while war wages across Europe, in the heart of London, there is a place of hope and enchantment. The Emporium sells toys that capture the imagination of children and adults alike: patchwork dogs that seem alive, toy boxes that are bigger on the inside, soldiers that can fight battles of their own. Into this family business comes young Cathy Wray, running away from a shameful past. The ...

Buy Book Now Read Reviews
 
 

Julius Zebra: Entangled with the Egyptians! (Walker Books)

5.0 Stars5.0 Stars5.0 Stars5.0 Stars5.0 Stars  from  1 review

After being shipwrecked on the shores of Egypt and mistaken for a Horse God, Julius can't believe his luck! Soon he and his bedraggled friends will be living it up in the city of Alexandria; preened and pampered like gods. Then a fancy boat procession will take them down the River Nile to Giza where, of course, a lavish party will be thrown in Julius's honour – as well as getting the obligatory tour of th ...

Buy Book Now Read Reviews
 
 

National Theatre: Play in a Box (Walker Books)

5.0 Stars5.0 Stars5.0 Stars5.0 Stars5.0 Stars  from  1 review

Discover how to create, direct and act in your very own play in this brilliant kit from the National Theatre. Inside find everything you need to put on a show, including ideas and inspiration for the characters, settings and plot, as well as expert top tips for staging, costume, make-up, props, sound and lighting. Contains 30 Character Cards, 8 Setting Cards, Plot Twist Book, 32-page Stagecraft Handbook and ...

Buy Book Now Read Reviews
 
 

National Theatre: All About Theatre (Walker Books)

5.0 Stars5.0 Stars5.0 Stars5.0 Stars5.0 Stars  from  1 review

Described by Benedict Cumberbatch as "a brilliant introduction to theatre", this fascinating book by the National Theatre shows how plays like War Horse and many others are made. The book is packed with interviews with famous directors and actors, like Lenny Henry, Meera Syal, Julie Walters and Ben Whishaw, and productions like The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time and One Man, Two Guvnors. Hear ...

Buy Book Now Read Reviews
 
 
 
| 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12