Highest Rated Books

The books in this section have all been rated very highly by our reviewers. The books have an average rating of 4.5 or higher and the number of high rating reviews the book receives is also taken into account.

Page 8 of 52, showing 12 records out of 613 total, starting on record 85, ending on 96

After She Vanished (Hachette Books Ireland)

5.0 Stars5.0 Stars5.0 Stars5.0 Stars5.0 Stars  from  1 review

Five people living on Dublin's streets have gone missing and criminologist David Dunnigan has been tasked with finding them. His search leads him to ten-year-old Harry, living alone in an abandoned warehouse, who has been waiting days for his parents' return ... Dunnigan knows more than he would wish to about unexplained disappearances. Almost twenty years ago, his young niece Beth vanished during the ...

Buy Book Now Read Reviews
 
 

Lost For Words: If you loved THE KEEPER OF LOST THINGS, you’ll love this (Zaffre)

5.0 Stars5.0 Stars5.0 Stars5.0 Stars5.0 Stars  from  1 review

Compelling, irresistible, feel-good read. Perfect for fans of The Keeper of Lost Things and Eleanor Oliphant is Completely Fine.

'Quirky, clever and unputdownable' Katie Fforde
'An exquisite story' Liz Fenwick
'Burns fiercely with love and hurt' Linda Green
'I ...

Buy Book Now Read Reviews
 
 

The Toymakers (Del Rey)

5.0 Stars5.0 Stars5.0 Stars5.0 Stars5.0 Stars  from  1 review

It is 1917, and while war wages across Europe, in the heart of London, there is a place of hope and enchantment. The Emporium sells toys that capture the imagination of children and adults alike: patchwork dogs that seem alive, toy boxes that are bigger on the inside, soldiers that can fight battles of their own. Into this family business comes young Cathy Wray, running away from a shameful past. The ...

Buy Book Now Read Reviews
 
 

Julius Zebra: Entangled with the Egyptians! (Walker Books)

5.0 Stars5.0 Stars5.0 Stars5.0 Stars5.0 Stars  from  1 review

After being shipwrecked on the shores of Egypt and mistaken for a Horse God, Julius can't believe his luck! Soon he and his bedraggled friends will be living it up in the city of Alexandria; preened and pampered like gods. Then a fancy boat procession will take them down the River Nile to Giza where, of course, a lavish party will be thrown in Julius's honour – as well as getting the obligatory tour of th ...

Buy Book Now Read Reviews
 
 

National Theatre: Play in a Box (Walker Books)

5.0 Stars5.0 Stars5.0 Stars5.0 Stars5.0 Stars  from  1 review

Discover how to create, direct and act in your very own play in this brilliant kit from the National Theatre. Inside find everything you need to put on a show, including ideas and inspiration for the characters, settings and plot, as well as expert top tips for staging, costume, make-up, props, sound and lighting. Contains 30 Character Cards, 8 Setting Cards, Plot Twist Book, 32-page Stagecraft Handbook and ...

Buy Book Now Read Reviews
 
 

National Theatre: All About Theatre (Walker Books)

5.0 Stars5.0 Stars5.0 Stars5.0 Stars5.0 Stars  from  1 review

Described by Benedict Cumberbatch as "a brilliant introduction to theatre", this fascinating book by the National Theatre shows how plays like War Horse and many others are made. The book is packed with interviews with famous directors and actors, like Lenny Henry, Meera Syal, Julie Walters and Ben Whishaw, and productions like The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time and One Man, Two Guvnors. Hear ...

Buy Book Now Read Reviews
 
 

Football School Season 2: Where Football Explains the World (Walker Books)

5.0 Stars5.0 Stars5.0 Stars5.0 Stars5.0 Stars  from  1 review

This book is packed with awesome true stories, real science and fascinating facts and will make you laugh loads – and it's all about football. What is a vomitory? When do footballers wee? Where do goalkeepers let in chickens? When did women start playing football? You'll find the answers to these questions and more in chapters on subjects such as biology, maths and history. Illustrated throughout with hil ...

Buy Book Now Read Reviews
 
 

The Boy, The Father & The Sea (Austin Macauley Publishers)

5.0 Stars5.0 Stars5.0 Stars5.0 Stars5.0 Stars  from  1 review

When his fisherman father is consumed by the oceans, a boy refuses to accept it, and goes on a mission to rescue him... A touching and evocative tale about the lure and danger of the waves, and the strength of a child's love for his father, The Boy, the Father & the Sea delves into the age-old mythology of man's relationship with the sea, creating a new and timeless fable. This story is illustrated with ext ...

Buy Book Now Read Reviews
 
 

The Surrogate: A gripping psychological thriller with an incredible twist (Sphere)

5.0 Stars5.0 Stars5.0 Stars5.0 Stars5.0 Stars  from  1 review

Kat and her husband Nick have tried everything to become parents, and are on the point of giving up. Then a chance encounter with Kat's childhood friend Lisa gives Kat and Nick one last chance to achieve their dream. But Kat and Lisa's history hides dark secrets. And there is more to Lisa than meets the eye. As dangerous cracks start to appear in Kat's perfect picture of happily-ever-after, she rea ...

Buy Book Now Read Reviews
 
 

The False Inspector Dew (Sphere)

5.0 Stars5.0 Stars5.0 Stars5.0 Stars5.0 Stars  from  1 review

Buy Book Now Read Reviews
 
 

13 Minutes (Gollancz)

5.0 Stars5.0 Stars5.0 Stars5.0 Stars5.0 Stars  from  1 review

I was dead for 13 minutes.


I don't remember how I ended up in the icy water but I do know this - it wasn't an accident and I wasn't suicidal.


They say you should keep your friends close and your enemies closer, but when you're a teenage girl, it's hard to tell them apart. My friends love me, I'm sure of it. But that doesn't mean they didn't try to kill me. Does it?

13 MINUTE ...

Buy Book Now Read Reviews
 
 

The Magic Strings of Frankie Presto (Sphere)

5.0 Stars5.0 Stars5.0 Stars5.0 Stars5.0 Stars  from  1 review

Buy Book Now Read Reviews
 
 
 
| 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12