Reviews

If you would be interested in sharing your book reviews with our readers, please contact us through our Contact Us form.

Page 8 of 240, showing 12 records out of 2872 total, starting on record 85, ending on 96

The Rending and the Nest (Bloomsbury USA)

2.0 Stars2.0 Stars  by Debra Found

Strange

Set in a post-apocalyptic world we follow the story of Mia and other residents of a community called Zion. 95% of the world's population has disappeared in an event called the Rending. We are several years after this event and most people appear to have settled into communities although there are still some travellers including Michael who arrives at Zion one day. Following the Rending there had been no bab ...

Buy Book Now Read Review
 
 

Right Behind You (FBI Profiler) (Headline)

5.0 Stars5.0 Stars5.0 Stars5.0 Stars5.0 Stars  by Anne

Gripping, clever and with excellent characterisation

In a note at the end of this novel the author says that she asked readers what character(s) she should include in her next novel and that she was surprised when they voted heavily for Quincy and Rainie who were the main characters in some of her earlier novels. I am not remotely surprised about this as I too had hoped that she would revisit this pairing because, having read all the novels in which they feat ...

Buy Book Now Read Review
 
 

Bookworm: A Memoir of Childhood Reading (Square Peg)

5.0 Stars5.0 Stars5.0 Stars5.0 Stars5.0 Stars  by Debra Found

Back to Childhood Books

This was, quite simply, the perfect book for me. I am a bookworm. I say that proudly with my head held high whenever it isn't between the pages of a book! This is Lucy Mangan's trip through her childhood books. Conveniently she appears to be only a couple of years younger than myself so it was also a trip through my childhood books. A book full of nostalgia but also pride in belonging to the clan "Bookworm" ...

Buy Book Now Read Review
 
 

The Stranger: A gripping story of secrets and lies for fans of Dangerous Crossing and Dinah Jefferie (Michael Joseph)

4.0 Stars4.0 Stars4.0 Stars4.0 Stars  by Debra Found

Good Solid Read

WWII is underway with the nightly blackouts and constant threat of invasion. Penhallow Hall in Cornwall is a thowback in time until 3 land girls are posted there to shake up the ghosts. Why is Eleanor in a constant state of anxiety under her Mother's dominance? What secrets do the land girls hold & who is Jane the third landgirl? This is a relatively slow-paced but enjoyable book. Penhallow Hall has ghosts ...

Buy Book Now Read Review
 
 

Panic Room (Bantam Press)

4.0 Stars4.0 Stars4.0 Stars4.0 Stars  by Debra Found

Shame About the Ending

I have read a great number of Robert Goddard books over the years and enjoyed many of them. I personally feel his earlier books were the best with the stories being less solid & enthralling with the later books. This book had all the making of an excellent read which I enjoyed very much. However, I really wasn't happy with the ending. I felt that it tailed off into the extremely unlikely & unbelieveable whi ...

Buy Book Now Read Review
 
 

The Pearl Sister (The Seven Sisters) (Pan)

4.0 Stars4.0 Stars4.0 Stars4.0 Stars  by Debra Found

Great 4th Book in the Series

This is the fourth book in the Seven Sisters series of books. This could be read as a stand alone book but I highly recommend reading all of the others as well. CeCe is the fourth adopted daughter of the recently deceased Pa Salt. When he died Pa Salt left the sisters enough clues for them to trace their origins and find some birth relations. CeCe's take her to Australia where she traces some contacts with ...

Buy Book Now Read Review
 
 

A Mother’s Sacrifice: A brand new psychological thriller with a gripping twist (HQ Digital)

3.0 Stars3.0 Stars3.0 Stars  by Debra Found

Started Well then........

Louisa and James have very much wanted a child. Following IVF they are ready to welcome their new baby into the world. The early days are tough as any early days with a new baby are. However as Louisa starts to unravel is it her past depression returning or is there someone watching them? Has Louisa got post natal depression resulting in paranoia or is someone from her past back to haunt her? This book sta ...

Buy Book Now Read Review
 
 

Scythe (Arc of a Scythe) (Walker Books)

4.0 Stars4.0 Stars4.0 Stars4.0 Stars  by Debra Found

Well Constructed

Set in a future where nobody dies, there are Scythes. Their purpose is to glean people in order to keep the population down. Once gleaned you cannot be revived. There is a complex quota system and immunity to certain people but ultimately if a Sythe comes for you then your time is up. Citra & Rowan are called to be scythes and start their apprenticeship with Scythe Faraday. There are factions within the Sc ...

Buy Book Now Read Review
 
 

Things Bright and Beautiful (Fig Tree)

2.0 Stars2.0 Stars  by Debra Found

The Story Spiralled Out of Control

Bea Hanlon and her new husband, Max, head off to be missionaries in the New Hebridies. This is the 1950s and the world is not as connected as it is now. The village is isolated, travel is on foot and the only help several days away. The contact with their home church is spasmodic and letters take several months to arrive - if at all! I felt this book started well. The young couple were finding their feet i ...

Buy Book Now Read Review
 
 

Truevine: An Extraordinary True Story of Two Brothers and a Mother's Love (Pan)

3.0 Stars3.0 Stars3.0 Stars  by Debra Found

Interesting but Muddled

This is a story about George & Willie living in Virginia in the early 20th century. The boys are albino black children taken from their homes to be exploited in the world of freak shows and circuses. The first thing I should mention is that parts of this make for quite distressing reading. Humans are not always kind to one another and the treatment of so ca ...

Buy Book Now Read Review
 
 

Little Woodford (Head of Zeus)

4.0 Stars4.0 Stars4.0 Stars4.0 Stars  by Debra Found

An Easy Read

Set in the small town of Little Woodford this is one of those gossipy, light books which follows the trials & tribulations of a small town. We meet recently widowed Bex who with her three children is struggling to settle in. Olivia is the town committee member - a finger in every pie. Belinda the pub landlady, Amy the cleaner who is a terrible gossip and a very old fashioned vicar and his wife. This is a t ...

Buy Book Now Read Review
 
 

The Undertaker's Daughter (Gallery Books)

4.0 Stars4.0 Stars4.0 Stars4.0 Stars  by Anne

Slightly morbid but fascinating

This memoir is about the author's family who lived in the same large house as the undertaker's business that her father ran. It takes place mainly in the 1960s and in a small town in rural America. The author follows the family's story until the death of her father with most of the narrative concerning the way in which they sought to live an ordinary life in an unusual setting. Buy Book Now Read Review

 
 
 
| 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12