Reviews

If you would be interested in sharing your book reviews with our readers, please contact us through our Contact Us form.

Page 7 of 239, showing 12 records out of 2865 total, starting on record 73, ending on 84

Snap: ‘The best crime novel I’ve read in a very long time’ Val McDermid (Black Swan)

4.0 Stars4.0 Stars4.0 Stars4.0 Stars  by Debra Found

Great Start

Jack and his two sisters wait in the car for their Mother to come back. The car had broken down and she had walked up the hardshoulder to the phone to get help. She never comes back. Several years on we meet the family again. Jack is struggling to keep them together and has turned to a life of crime until one day he sees something in a house that sets him on a path to find his Mother's killer. I really enj ...

Buy Book Now Read Review
 
 

The Cult on Fog Island (The Cult on Fog Island Trilogy, Book 1) (HQ)

3.0 Stars3.0 Stars3.0 Stars  by Debra Found

Bland with Poor Description

Sofia is just coming out of a difficult relationship & vulnerable when she first meets Franz Oswald. She loves his New Age theories and takes up the offer of a job creating the library at the commune that Oswald has set up. However the tranquility is soon shattered as outsiders question the cult and strange happenings lead Sofia to question her decision to live in the commune. The major problem with this i ...

Buy Book Now Read Review
 
 

Poor Lamb, Poor Lamb (Cedar Walk )

4.0 Stars4.0 Stars4.0 Stars4.0 Stars  by Debra Found

Interesting Family History

Francis Lynham is an orphan with both parents dying before he was old enough to think about it. He grew up in a home run by Nuns and later a boys home run by monks. This is not, however, a tale of his abuse as he considered himself one of the lucky ones. Francis thought he was an orphan until the day a stranger knocks on his door claiming to be his sister. She hands him some paperwork detailing their famil ...

Buy Book Now Read Review
 
 

The Librarian (Viking)

4.0 Stars4.0 Stars4.0 Stars4.0 Stars  by Debra Found

Light Read with Some Smiles

Sylvia Blackwell moves to a small town to be the children's librarian. She has an odious boss who feels threatened by her capabilities. However she makes friends with the next door but one neightbours - the Hedge family, school teachers, some ladies from the WI, local children & the GP. Sylvia sets about making the library an integral part of the community. I really liked the start of this. It almost felt ...

Buy Book Now Read Review
 
 

My Mother, The Liar: A chilling thriller to read with the lights on (HQ Digital)

4.0 Stars4.0 Stars4.0 Stars4.0 Stars  by Debra Found

Twists & Turns

This is the story of a family who put the capital "D" into dysfunctional! Rachel Porter returns to her home town following the death of her mother. She isn't there for the funeral, that was days ago, but rather because she is needed for paperwork around probate. She finds her sister Frances burning everything in sight as she empties the moulding wreck of the family home, The Limes. The other sister Stella h ...

Buy Book Now Read Review
 
 

The Rending and the Nest (Bloomsbury USA)

2.0 Stars2.0 Stars  by Debra Found

Strange

Set in a post-apocalyptic world we follow the story of Mia and other residents of a community called Zion. 95% of the world's population has disappeared in an event called the Rending. We are several years after this event and most people appear to have settled into communities although there are still some travellers including Michael who arrives at Zion one day. Following the Rending there had been no bab ...

Buy Book Now Read Review
 
 

Right Behind You (FBI Profiler) (Headline)

5.0 Stars5.0 Stars5.0 Stars5.0 Stars5.0 Stars  by Anne

Gripping, clever and with excellent characterisation

In a note at the end of this novel the author says that she asked readers what character(s) she should include in her next novel and that she was surprised when they voted heavily for Quincy and Rainie who were the main characters in some of her earlier novels. I am not remotely surprised about this as I too had hoped that she would revisit this pairing because, having read all the novels in which they feat ...

Buy Book Now Read Review
 
 

Bookworm: A Memoir of Childhood Reading (Square Peg)

5.0 Stars5.0 Stars5.0 Stars5.0 Stars5.0 Stars  by Debra Found

Back to Childhood Books

This was, quite simply, the perfect book for me. I am a bookworm. I say that proudly with my head held high whenever it isn't between the pages of a book! This is Lucy Mangan's trip through her childhood books. Conveniently she appears to be only a couple of years younger than myself so it was also a trip through my childhood books. A book full of nostalgia but also pride in belonging to the clan "Bookworm" ...

Buy Book Now Read Review
 
 

The Stranger: A gripping story of secrets and lies for fans of Dangerous Crossing and Dinah Jefferie (Michael Joseph)

4.0 Stars4.0 Stars4.0 Stars4.0 Stars  by Debra Found

Good Solid Read

WWII is underway with the nightly blackouts and constant threat of invasion. Penhallow Hall in Cornwall is a thowback in time until 3 land girls are posted there to shake up the ghosts. Why is Eleanor in a constant state of anxiety under her Mother's dominance? What secrets do the land girls hold & who is Jane the third landgirl? This is a relatively slow-paced but enjoyable book. Penhallow Hall has ghosts ...

Buy Book Now Read Review
 
 

Panic Room (Bantam Press)

4.0 Stars4.0 Stars4.0 Stars4.0 Stars  by Debra Found

Shame About the Ending

I have read a great number of Robert Goddard books over the years and enjoyed many of them. I personally feel his earlier books were the best with the stories being less solid & enthralling with the later books. This book had all the making of an excellent read which I enjoyed very much. However, I really wasn't happy with the ending. I felt that it tailed off into the extremely unlikely & unbelieveable whi ...

Buy Book Now Read Review
 
 

The Pearl Sister (The Seven Sisters) (Pan)

4.0 Stars4.0 Stars4.0 Stars4.0 Stars  by Debra Found

Great 4th Book in the Series

This is the fourth book in the Seven Sisters series of books. This could be read as a stand alone book but I highly recommend reading all of the others as well. CeCe is the fourth adopted daughter of the recently deceased Pa Salt. When he died Pa Salt left the sisters enough clues for them to trace their origins and find some birth relations. CeCe's take her to Australia where she traces some contacts with ...

Buy Book Now Read Review
 
 

A Mother’s Sacrifice: A brand new psychological thriller with a gripping twist (HQ Digital)

3.0 Stars3.0 Stars3.0 Stars  by Debra Found

Started Well then........

Louisa and James have very much wanted a child. Following IVF they are ready to welcome their new baby into the world. The early days are tough as any early days with a new baby are. However as Louisa starts to unravel is it her past depression returning or is there someone watching them? Has Louisa got post natal depression resulting in paranoia or is someone from her past back to haunt her? This book sta ...

Buy Book Now Read Review
 
 
 
| 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11