Book Reviews

Women of the Dunes by Sarah Maine

No ImageBuy Now

List Price: £12.30

 

Paperback: 384 Pages.

Published: 24 July 2018 by Atria Books

ISBN: 150118959X

EAN: 9781501189593

From the author of the acclaimed novels The House Between Tides and Beyond the Wild River, a rich, atmospheric tale set on the sea-lashed coast of west Scotland, in which the lives of a ninth-century Norsewoman, a nineteenth-century woman, and a twenty-first-century archeologist weave together after a body is discovered in the dunes.

Libby Snow has always felt the pull of Ullanessm a lush Scottish island enshrouded in myth and deeply important to her family. Her great-great-grandmother Ellen was obsessed with the strange legend of Ulla, a Viking maiden who washed up on shore with the nearly lifeless body of her husband—and who inspired countless epic poems and the island’s name.

Central to the mystery is an ornate chalice and Libby, an archaeologist, finally has permission to excavate the site where Ulla is believed to have lived. But what Libby finds in the ancient dunes is a body from the Victorian era, clearly murdered…and potentially connected to Ellen.

What unfolds is an epic story that spans centuries, with Libby mining Ellen and Ulla’s stories for clues about the body, and in doing so, discovering the darker threads that bind all three women together across history.

Infused with Sarah Maine’s signature “meticulous research and descriptive passages of lush, beautiful landscapes” (Publishers Weekly), Women of the Dunes is a beautifully told and compelling mystery for fans of Kate Morton and Beatriz Williams.

Reviews

4.0 Stars4.0 Stars4.0 Stars4.0 Stars  by Debra Found

Well Researched - Beautiful Description

This book is set in the beautiful and wild west of Scotland. There are three threads - a 9th century Viking woman, a 19th century housemaid and a modern day woman. Their stories are told as the threads are woven through the book.

I really enjoyed this book. The author's description is excellent and I got a real sense of the wildness and remote coast of Scotland. The setting is beautifully described and I felt that the author did it justice.

I enjoy good historical novels which are well researched showing real depth to the time periods that are being described. I felt that this author did her research and provided the depth of context and character that a good historical novel requires.

This book was a good read and I struggled to put it down. As I have said, the description and characters are excellent but also there is a good plot for the reader to get their teeth into.

I received a free copy of this book via Netgalley.

 
<< previous | next >>