Book Reviews

Flying Tips for Flightless Birds by Kelly McCaughrain

No ImageBuy Now

List Price: £7.99

 

Paperback: 384 Pages.

Published: 01 March 2018 by Walker Books

ISBN: 1406375659

EAN: 9781406375657

From debut author Kelly McCaughrain comes a sweet and kooky romcom for fans of R. J. Palacio's Wonder, Sarah Crossan, and Susin Nielsen's We Are All Made of Molecules.

Twins Finch and Birdie Franconi are stars of the flying trapeze. But when Birdie suffers a terrifying accident, Finch must team up with the geeky new kid, Hector Hazzard, to form an all-boys double act and save the family circus school.

Together they learn to walk the high-wire of teen life and juggle the demands of friends, family, first love and facing up to who they are – all served up with a dash of circus-showbiz magic.

Reviews

4.0 Stars4.0 Stars4.0 Stars4.0 Stars  by Debra Found

Great Read for Young Teenagers

Birdie and Finch are twins and a double act. At school they stand out from the crowd together. On the trapeze they fly together through the air. Bullied for being different they get through because they are a double act. However, at 14 this is the time when children start to grow up in slightly different ways - how do they come to terms with this and with the biggest separation of their lives?

I really enjoyed this book. I found it very engaging despite not being the target age by more than a few years. The characters are very real & the scenarios of being bullied are realistic though slightly tamer than many children experience. The author brings the characters into that time when things start to change. People change - best friends drift apart and people grow up at different rates. This is the age where nothing stays as it was in childhood and it is difficult to negotiate.

There are plenty of excellent topics which are dealt with well in this book. Not just bulling but being different, giving people a second chance, rejoicing in individuality and understanding your own and other people's sexuality.

A book that I would certainly recommend to a young teenager - not just because of the topics it covers but also because it is a good read!

I received a free copy from the publisher.

 
<< previous | next >>