Book Reviews

The Anthony Browne Collection by Anthony Browne

No ImageBuy Now

List Price: £69.50


Paperback: 200 Pages.

Published: 30 May 2017 by Walker Books

ISBN: 1406379980

EAN: 9781406379983

From the best-selling author and master illustrator Anthony Browne comes this brilliant 10-book paperback collection, perfect for bedtime reading. Anthony Browne s work is loved around the world with classics including Look What I ve Got, Through the Magic Mirror and Willy the Wimp, this collection is sure to become a firm bedtime favourite in any household. Titles in this collection (10) include: Look What I ve Got, Through the Magic Mirror, Willy the Wimp, Willy the Champ, Will and the Cloud, Willy the Dreamer, Piggybook, Silly Billy, The Tunnel, Changes.


3.0 Stars3.0 Stars3.0 Stars  by Debra Found

Bit Dated

This is a collection of books from the author, Anthony Browne, designed

for pre and early school aged children. I remember reading Willy the

Wimp with my children over twenty years ago so it was fun re-reading

that and the others in the selection.

The books do come across as

slightly dated now. The characters are either animals or white children.

The pictures are quite simple but the buildings and clothes do look as

if they come from twenty years ago. Some of that doesn't quite work.


took an exception to the book "Silly Billy" which is about a boy who

worries. I wasn't that happy about a child being perceived as being

silly for worrying. I didn't feel that this was quite the right message.


is a nicely presented set of books in its own see-through zippable

case. However, buying ten books in one set like this is quite pricey at

£56.29 at the time of writing. Although this is reasonable in comparison

to buying books like this individually it does seem a lot in one go.


I don't think that I'd choose to buy this set for anyone it may make a

nice gift or a useful addition to a library or nursery collection.

I received this set of book free from the publisher.

<< previous | next >>