Book Reviews

The Eagle Has Flown (Classic Jack Higgins Collection) by Jack Higgins

No ImageBuy Now

List Price: £6.99


Paperback: 352 Pages.

Published: 26 November 1998 by Penguin

Edition: New Ed

ISBN: 0140273352

EAN: 9780140273359

The sequel to "The Eagle has Landed". By the end of 1943, all the evidence of the abortive German attempt to assassinate Winston Chuchill has been buried in a grave in Norfolk. But two of the most wanted ringleaders are still alive, and the Reichsfuhrer is demanding the eagle's return.


3.0 Stars3.0 Stars3.0 Stars  by Anne

A bit too predictable

"The Eagle has Landed" was a run away success for Jack Higgins and in a move to recreate this he has written a sequel which is effectively the same book all over again. We meet the same characters who have a similar quest and face similar odds. The author is less brutal in this novel and fewer main characters die although there are one or two touching events. Jack Higgins indulges his affection for the Roman Catholic church and the IRA and reiterates his familiar theme that good men are forced into doing and enduring terrible things because of war.

The book is not as long or as complex as its predecessor probably because if you have read the first book you already know some things which he does not need to repeat. Do not read this book if you have not read "The Eagle has Landed" but if you have you will probably enjoy it whilst regretting that the author did not use the opportunity to write a novel equalling his biggest success.

<< previous | next >>