Book Reviews

William Wenton and the Luridium Thief by Bobbie Peers

No ImageBuy Now

List Price: £6.99

 

Paperback: 256 Pages.

Published: 06 April 2017 by Walker Books

ISBN: 9781406371703

EAN: 9781406371703

Packed full of magical code-breaking skills, wisecracking robots and a young hero who might just be too clever for his own good, this tech-savvy adventure is perfect for fans of Percy Jackson and Alex Rider. Twelve year-old code breaking genius William Wenton, is trying to make sense of his family's dramatic escape from their home in London. But when his extraordinary talent for cracking codes is suddenly revealed, William must face the danger that has been lurking around him for years.

Reviews

5.0 Stars5.0 Stars5.0 Stars5.0 Stars5.0 Stars  by Debra Found

Great Fun - Plenty of Action

William Wenton is a clever lad who can break codes. He and his parents are living quietly in Norway in hiding from what or whom William doesn't know. Then one day William breaks a code & they are discovered! What follows is a fast action story rather akin to a young Alex Rider or a very young James Bond. There are amazing robots, talking doors, carnivorous plants.......William's world is turned upside down!

I really enjoyed this book despite being somewhat older than the target audience! Even when there wasn't a lot of action there was plenty to hold the reader's attention - stroppy doors, a vacuum cleaner that wanted to watch "Terminator" and strange creatures. There are light hearted moments making the book just great fun to read.

I would say that this book is probably for a younger readership than the Alex Rider series. They would make a good feeder book. It is great to have a clever hero who solves things by brains & learns things by reading books whilst at the same time is not stuffy and boring. William has his female sidekick, Iscia, making this a book to appeal to both genders of reader. Also involved is William's Grandfather who has been a real action Grandpa & not a pipe & slippers guy yet!  I loved the fact that there are no swear words, adults do apologise as required and although there is violence there are no lurid descriptions of blood, guts and gore.  The descriptive language in the book is good with a wide range of vocabulary.

I think this is a great book & would happily read the next in the series. I do hope that there is a whole series planned so children can really get involved with William in the future.

I received a free copy of this book from the publisher.

 
<< previous | next >>