Book Reviews

Wing Jones by Katherine Webber

No ImageBuy Now

List Price: £7.99

 

Paperback: 384 Pages.

Published: 05 January 2017 by Walker Books

Edition: 01

ISBN: 9781406369090

EAN: 9781406369090

For fans of David Levithan, Jandy Nelson and Rainbow Rowell: a sweeping story about love and family from an exceptional new voice in YA. With a grandmother from China and another from Ghana, fifteen-year-old Wing Jones is often caught between worlds. But when tragedy strikes, Wing discovers a talent for running she never knew she had. Wing's speed could bring her family everything it needs. It could also stop Wing getting the one thing she wants.

Reviews

4.0 Stars4.0 Stars4.0 Stars4.0 Stars  by Debra Found

Plenty of Food for Thought

This is the story of Wing Jones who is a slightly awkward teenage girl. Wing lives rather in her brother Marcus' shadow as he is an excellent football player. Wing is of mixed heritage incorporating both Ghanian and Chinese heritage which she feels have left her with ugly looks and untamed hair. When her brother has a terrible accident and is left in a coma Wing struggles to cope. She is suffering terribly from bullying at school and needs to help her family somehow. One night Wing needs to lets off steam & runs. It helps to her cope with everything that is going on.

The first thing to note is that this is set in America so the family are struggling with medical bills & fighting insurance companies. This raises all sorts of questions on its own about the American health system. This is very topical following Obama Care & its repeal by Donald Trump so hopefully will cause young readers to question health care and its payment.

This book also addresses racism and bullying. Although not set in the UK it raises the same questions about USA that are faced by people in this country. It is good for youngsters to come face to face with these issues.

I did like Wing. She is a youngster who finds a way to cope despite everything that is being thrown at her. There are some slightly mystical elements in this book who seem to pop up to guide her & have a connection with her mixed heritages. To be honest I feel that the book could have managed perfectly well without the introduction of these.

This is a very modern and topical book which raises plenty of questions for youngsters. The plot is generally sound and the character three dimensional. An excellent debut and I would be happy to read further books by this author.

I received an advanced reader copy of this book from the publisher.

 
<< previous | next >>