Book Reviews

No ImageBuy Now

List Price: £0.00

 

: Pages.

Published: by

ISBN:

EAN:

A thoroughly British teen comedy starring a hilariously flawed heroine with a quip for every occasion - perfect for fans of Holly Smale, Holly Bourne, Caitlin Moran and Sophie Kinsella. Lou Brown's life is going down the pan. Best friend Hannah sailed through the Olympic time trials and is off to her fancy-pants new swim training school, while Lou's own failure to qualify leaves her without a hobby - or a friend. As Lou tries to navigate her post-swim world, a chance encounter with three boys with stars in their eyes takes her life in a surprising new direction. One that leads to a crazy world of underwater somersaults, talent show auditions, bitchy girls and one great big load of awkward boy chat.

Reviews

4.0 Stars4.0 Stars4.0 Stars4.0 Stars  by Debra Found

Lighthearted Book for Early Teens

This is the story of 15 year old Lou. She had hoped to go to the Olympic

swimming training camp with her friend, Hannah. Unfortunately Lou just

didn't make the grade and she is now lost - too much time and no

friends. Lou just doesn't fit in at school where no one talks to her and

her swimming coach has dumped her. How does she become cool? How does

she make friends and how will she get her schoolwork done?

This is a

lighthearted book which looks at many issues that do bother young girls

in their teens - are they cool? Do they have friends? Why will no one

talk to them? What happens if they are no good at anything? Why i it

always tampons which fall out of the school bag? It is good for

youngsters to know that these are perfectly ordinary & common

feelings & insecurities and also that they aren't the end of the

world. I found some of the book lightly amusing though I suspect it will

be more appealling to its target audience - younger teenage girls.

I

found Lou a little on the immature side for being supposedly 15. Her

thoughts and attitudes reminded me more of a 12 or 13 year old rather

than a 15+ year old. I suspect that this will make her appeal better to

the younger teen.

I did get a little irritated by the attitude of

Lou's swimming coach, Deb. Lou came last in the race to qualify for an

olympic swimming school. To actually be in the race in the first place

means that she must still be a top quality swimmer. So why would her

coach tell her to stop training and effectively dump her? Other girls

who weren't good enough for this race are kept in the team but Lou gets

totally eliminated. This bit just didn't make sense to me. I also

didn't like the feeling that failing at one race would mean the end of

everything. This is not realistic and not a great message to send to the

readers.

This isn't a bad book and I can see that teenagers would enjoy it. It is light hearted and amusing.

I received a free book from the publisher in order to write this product review.

 
<< previous | next >>