Book Reviews

Marking Time (Cazalet Chronicles) by Elizabeth Jane Howard

No ImageBuy Now

List Price: £8.99


Paperback: 640 Pages.

Published: 07 November 2013 by Pan

Edition: New Edit/Cover

ISBN: 9780330332507

EAN: 9780330332507

Home Place, Sussex, 1939. The English family at war . . .

The sunlit days of childish games and familyn meals are over, as the shadows of war roll in to cloud the lives of one English family.

At Home Place, the windows are blacked out and food is becoming scarce as a new generation of Cazalets takes up the story. Louise dreams of being a great actress, Clary is an aspiring writer, while Polly, is burdened with knowledge and the need to share it.


4.0 Stars4.0 Stars4.0 Stars4.0 Stars  by Debra Found

The Saga Develops

This is the second book in the Cazalet saga. Almost a year after the previous book, the country is at war and the family seem to be settled for the duration at Home Place. The children are getting older and developing as people with personalities. Louise is making her way as an actress, Polly is frantic about the war, Clary is struggling to be strong for everyone and Christopher is is deeply unhappy.

This book centres primarily around the children. There are sections seen from some of the older children's viewpoint alternating with general stories about the family. It is very interesting seeing the war and the adult world from the view of the children. The older children are still seen very much as children but they see and understand so much more than the adults give them credit for.

This is not a big action book. It is a slowly developing saga showing the big picture of World War II alongside the everyday worries of living in a country at war and the usual concerns of growing teenagers. The characters are individual and I really got a sense of their personalities, how they were thinking and how they will react.

I very much enjoy this type of story - the slowly developing saga where the characters personalities become more defined as the story develops through the series. This is a particularly good series of books and I am very much looking forward to progressing onto book 3.

<< previous | next >>