Book Reviews

Mr. Wrong by Elizabeth Jane Howard

No ImageBuy Now

List Price: £4.99


Paperback: 224 Pages.

Published: 08 April 1993 by Pan Books

Edition: New edition

ISBN: 0330327968

EAN: 9780330327961

This is a selection of stories including "Summer Picnic" and "The Devoted" which epitemize the author's earlier work, as well as more recent stories including "Child's Play" and "Pont du Gard" as well as "The Proposition" and "Whip Hand".


3.0 Stars3.0 Stars3.0 Stars  by Debra Found

Interesting Short Stories

This is a collection of short stories by the well known author of the Cazalet series.

These stories are about women, the lives they live and how they deal with their situations. The settings of the stories are quite dated and many of them are clearly set in the 1970s.

These woman are presented as being quite strong - they know their own mind and are modern in the sense that is attributed to women of that era which saw women smoking and drinking in public as still quite new. However, when faced with a difficult situation some of the women turned out to be quite passive and I did get irritated. I think this is partially to do with the era of the stories.

I enjoyed this book of short stories. Some of them have a slightly dark theme to them. Mr Wrong includes implied violence and murder. These were ideal for me to listen to whilst doing other things but I don't think that I would take the time to read them again.

<< previous | next >>