Reviews

If you would be interested in sharing your book reviews with our readers, please contact us through our Contact Us form.

Page 1 of 217, showing 12 records out of 2597 total, starting on record 1, ending on 12

The Vengeance of Mothers (St. Martin's Press)

3.0 Stars3.0 Stars3.0 Stars  by Debra Found

Lacking Personality

Having read the advertising blurb once again, I am struggling to match it with the book I read. The blurb talks about great passion - I found the whole book quite unemotional & it certainly failed to evoke passion in me. The blurb also talks about exploring the relationships between wives, husbands & children in an outcast society which I have to say passed me by totally. As you may have gathered I struggl ...

Buy Book Now Read Review
 
 

I Know Why The Caged Bird Sings (Virago)

5.0 Stars5.0 Stars5.0 Stars5.0 Stars5.0 Stars  by Anne

Emotional but in the end uplifting

This is the first book of this author's autobiographical series and it is deservedly a classic. It is written with real emotion and conveys a life that is distinct from mine in a way that helps me understand what it must have been like and how the author experienced her life. The prose is elegant and the words obviously carefully chosen to convey much but it is easy to read. Parts ...

Buy Book Now Read Review
 
 

Little Girl Lost (Coorah Creek 3) (Choc Lit)

5.0 Stars5.0 Stars5.0 Stars5.0 Stars5.0 Stars  by Anne

Excellent light romance in Australian setting

This is the third of this series of books set in the Australian outback town of Coorah Creek but you don't need to have read the preceding two to enjoy this one. These are small town romances in a traditional style. The town is full of "characters" all of whom have a heart of gold. Outsiders don't really understand the town. People who come in and are part of the story bring large ...

Buy Book Now Read Review
 
 

Deadly Election: Flavia Albia 3 (Falco: The New Generation) (Hodder Paperbacks)

4.0 Stars4.0 Stars4.0 Stars4.0 Stars  by Anne

The heart of the story is our heroine - and love

I loved the Falco novels by this author and am very much enjoying this new spin off series featuring his adopted daughter who is now making her own way as an informer in Ancient Rome. You don't have to have read the first two books in the series but you will enjoy them if you do and they will add a bit of background and depth to this book that will enhance it for the reader. Buy Book Now Read Review

 
 

Release (Walker Books)

4.0 Stars4.0 Stars4.0 Stars4.0 Stars  by Debra Found

Stuff Happens - You Can Get Through It

This is one day in the life of Adam Thorn. A fairly typical American boy who has rather extreme parents. Everything that can go wrong does and to top it all Adam nearly blows it with his boyfriend, Linus. Alongside this runs a supernatural story concerning a faun and a Queen seeking revenge for a recent murder. On the whole I did like this book. I felt for Adam who is struggling to live an ordinary life as ...

Buy Book Now Read Review
 
 

Sister (Piatkus Books)

2.0 Stars2.0 Stars  by Anne

The twist in the plot spoiled it for me

Beatrice is writing a letter to her dead sister. She is telling her what happened since she came back to London to try and prove that her sister did not kill herself. She slowly discovers Tess's life as she visits places she has been and talks to those who knew her. She lives in her flat and even wears her clothes and through this she begins to understand who her sister was and ho ...

Buy Book Now Read Review
 
 

Once Bitten, Twice Shy: Book One of the Jaz Parks Series (Orbit)

3.0 Stars3.0 Stars3.0 Stars  by Anne

Plot and characters OK but I had problems with the style

This is a paranormal suspense novel in the tradition of Kelley Armstrong, Laurel K Hamilton, Kim Harrison, etc. The premise, a human working for the CIA and partnered by a vampire, is good. Jaz is a troubled soul and we are aware from the beginning that she has a big event in her past which is causing problems although the extent of these is not apparent until later in the book. S ...

Buy Book Now Read Review
 
 

The One: The unputdownable psychological thriller everyone is talking about (Del Rey)

4.0 Stars4.0 Stars4.0 Stars4.0 Stars  by Debra Found

Loved the Concept

I really loved the concept of this book. It is nice to find a whole new idea put forward into a book and I commend the author for that. This is probably the reason I have given this four stars as opposed to three. The book follows 5 people who have done a DNA test to find their perfect life partner. It is very simple, just take a mouth swab, send it off and wait to be matched with the perfect person for yo ...

Buy Book Now Read Review
 
 

Gather the Daughters (Tinder Press)

4.0 Stars4.0 Stars4.0 Stars4.0 Stars  by Debra Found

Generally Good - More Character Depth Required

In a dystopian future is an island where generations have created a basic society for themselves. The men are all powerful and the women submissive. The men work manually and the women have the job of having two healthy children. It is not a welcoming climate where the winter is very cold and the summer air so filled with mosquitos people can barely leave their homes. This book follows the story of four yo ...

Buy Book Now Read Review
 
 

The Little Coffee Shop of Kabul (Sphere)

2.0 Stars2.0 Stars  by Anne

Issue led rather than character led

The author has lived in Kabul so the experiences of the Western characters living there should be accurate. I haven't lived in Afghanistan so I don't know if their stories are accurate but I have no reason to suppose that they aren't. Unfortunately, what came across was a series of different characters created by the author each of which has an issue, usually associated with a man ...

Buy Book Now Read Review
 
 

Red Rising (Hodder & Stoughton)

3.0 Stars3.0 Stars3.0 Stars  by Anne

Disjointed and a bit long but some excellent ideas

This book starts with Darrow as part of a mining community treated as slaves who are working on Mars at some time in the future trying to make it ultimately ready for colonisation. The work is hard and the life is harsh and the reds have developed their own society and culture. We don't really see enough of this for me because tragic events happen quickly and Darrow is hauled out ...

Buy Book Now Read Review
 
 

The Trespasser: Dublin Murder Squad: 6. The gripping Richard & Judy Book Club 2017 thriller (Hodder Paperbacks)

5.0 Stars5.0 Stars5.0 Stars5.0 Stars5.0 Stars  by Anne

It isn't paranoia if they are really out to get you

Antoinette has had a difficult upbringing as the child of a single mother whose legacy from her absent father is a brown skin - she is always different from those around her. She has had to fight for what she wants and now she has achieved her goal in life and is a member of Dublin's murder squad. The problem is that she is different there too and she isn't welcome. She and her partner are thrown the domest ...

Buy Book Now Read Review
 
 
 
<< previous | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9